Electrical and electronics NCEES specs

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trin

Reaction score
New to the forum. I was able to pass the FE exam (electrical and computer) based on the tips I've gotten from this website.

Now I'm studying for the PE exam but I'm puzzled whether I should study NEC and NESC which are not part of the specs. But some members who've taken the EE exam have said 1-2 questions are asked based on NEC and NESC. Can someone who've taken the exam confirm this? I'm trying to decide whether I should buy these books or just study the materials from Camara book which deals w/ it briefly. Any info would be helpful. 

I took the electrical and electronics exam in April and there were no topics relating to the NEC nor NESC.

Thanks. How useful have you found the Camara book during the exam? I have read a number of topics saying this book alone is not enough to pass the exam. Common consensus seems to be that the Camara book lacks in wireless communications and digital systems

I honestly don't know if I have enough time to prepare for the exam given I only have about 5 months left to prepare for October 2017 exam. Camara even said in the book that I should consult  5 - 10 other books in addition to his. I ended up buying a bunch of Schaum's outline series - Electromagnetics, Basic Circuit Analysis, Electric Circuits, Electronic Devices and Circuits, Analog and Digital Communications, Signals and Systems, Digital Systems, and Microelectronics book by Sedra/Smith so I can get as many practice problems as I could.