WORKING ACROSS DISCIPLINES

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freon

Reaction score
Here is a topic for polite conversation:

I work in the offshore petroleum/shipbuilding industry. My background is Chemical and Electrical Engineering. I have noticed that electrical engineers are often despised people around the rigs and shipyards. I will tell you that much of the animosity is well deserved; some of the electrical folks I work with do not document drawing changes very well and seem to want to constantly adjust and tweak the design; much to the frustration of the structural, mechanical and project management staffs. (I keep very tight control over my stamp, even though most of my work does not require it.)

Has anyone else seen a similar situation?

Freon

I'm in the civil/structural department and work in the oil and gas industry here. Everyone hates the pipers (piping and process)...

The pipers are a bunch of clowns that enjoy changing things, removing things, and adding things. Of course, they never tell you when they make a change, you have to find that out on your own, by which time your calculations and drawings are near completion. And they like to deny everything, even when I have the screenshot to provie them otherwise...

"That has always been there!"

And it is just not my company...

As for electrical engineers, they don't bother us. They are usually willing to accommodate us, besides, how hard is it to re-arrange your cable trays anyways?

Thankfully, I don't work in an industry where one has to deal with architects. I have heard some pretty crazy stories about those asshats.

I do not hold in contempt any engineer, no matter what their dicipline.

That is of course as long as they recognize the VAST superiority of the Mechanical Engineering dicipline to all others.