Taking FE with felony

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nbaudoin

Reaction score
Hello I am a recent civil engineering graduate from Louisiana and I have yet to take the FE exam because I have read (and heard) that my felony (charged in 2006, pled guilty in 2008) might disqualify me from taking the FE and getting my EIT license. From what I gather, having a felony is not an immediate deal-breaker. Each application is considered on a case-by-case basis. What I'm hoping to find out is the following:

a) Does each state have a similar stance to Louisiana? If not, could anyone possibly elaborate on their state's difference? I've seen some information indicating that there are states who will only consider felonies that are directly related to the profession (such as taking bribes, being corrupt, poor design leading to injury or death, etc.) whereas others will consider any felony. Louisiana requires that the applicants have good moral character, thus they consider all felonies. I'm hoping that other states are not quite as strict. I've read Oregon is this way, but I haven't really found clear evidence for this yet.

B) If I try to take the test in Louisiana and I am denied, would this preclude me from taking the test elsewhere or make it more difficult to do so? I'm considering moving to another state if practicing this career will be easier to accomplish elsewhere, but because I am on probation I need to have a good plan of action in place before I do anything.