Revit vs AutoCAD or AutoCAD MEP

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DLD PE

lower intestine
Reaction score
I've been working in design/consulting industry for 15 years.  In North Carolina we did all our design work in AutoCAD (2D).  8 years ago we were told everyone was moving to Revit so I took the course along with some co-workers but we never ended up using it.  Then I moved to Tennessee (Nashville area) and started using AutoCAD MEP with the firm I'm working for now.  I'm still getting told from job recruiters and other engineering firms that Revit is becoming more dominant.  So, which is it?  

For those of you who use Revit, do you find it a better design tool?  Personally I always thought it was a better design tool and wonder if I should take a good Revit MEP course in case something happens down the road and I need to be familiar with it.

We are using a lot of Revit in our firm. Honestly I prefer it much more than autocad because I can easily see clashes in lighting, mechanical, plumbing, etc. 

I've been working in design/consulting industry for 15 years.  In North Carolina we did all our design work in AutoCAD (2D).  8 years ago we were told everyone was moving to Revit so I took the course along with some co-workers but we never ended up using it.  Then I moved to Tennessee (Nashville area) and started using AutoCAD MEP with the firm I'm working for now.  I'm still getting told from job recruiters and other engineering firms that Revit is becoming more dominant.  So, which is it?  

For those of you who use Revit, do you find it a better design tool?  Personally I always thought it was a better design tool and wonder if I should take a good Revit MEP course in case something happens down the road and I need to be familiar with it.