REGISTERING FOR PE EXAM - Requirements of 'Endorser'?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sunny_009

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am a Mechanical engineer who graduated BS in 2003 and MS in 2006. Took my FE Mechanical CBT earlier this month and I am happy to say I passed 1st try. It was a 'fun' experience being out of college for so long. I already have 13 years engineering experience so I am motivated to continue the studying and take the PE Mechanical(TFS) by this year end in NY. 
I am currently working on my PE application and I am realizing how cumbersome it is with the 'Experience verification and endorsement'.

New York Board's Experience documenting instructions say the "Endorser" shall be a "Qualified Professional". Could anyone please advise on the following in general?

• Who is a "Qualified Professional" in the context of the PE application typically?
  • Should the Endorser strictly be a Licensed PE only? If yes, the issue is I am with a small company for the last 10+ years and we do not have a PE in-house. My company subs-out the PE stamping. However, I work closely with those licensed engineers on a regular basis and I can always ask them to provide an endorsement. Will outside-the-company PE endorsers be acceptable by the exam review board? (OR)
  • Can the Endorser be my non-licensed VP who has an engineering degree?  (OR)
  • Can the Endorser be a non-engineer (my company President)? I report to my company President and VP directly. Both are happy to endorse me if acceptable.

Thank you in advance. Sorry about the long write-up.
           Sunny

PS: This is a great resource for PE Engineering experience write-up IMO