PE application outlining work experience

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peteaxel

Reaction score
I am about to fill out my application listing my work experience to submit to the New York State Board to obtain approval on taking the electrical PE exam. I have about 17 years of work experience. Does anybody have any insight on filling out such an application such as any special wordage they are looking for, contents, etc. Do you pretty much just outline all the work you have done in your career? Any information or suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks a bunch.

:Locolaugh:

you have 17 years of exeperience so u shouldn't have a problem. Design, Design, Design. thats what they are looking for. Writing procedures, specifications, calculations, etc. List the projects you worked on and your duties on them.

its not a big deal if you are an engineer and work as one, a lot of people have problems cause they are construction inspectors, estimators, and field guys.

but even as a field guy engineering can be done, a lot of issues come out in the field and they need to be resolved and engineers solve them.

I basically just cut and pasted my resume into the forms I downloaded.
I dunno about NY, but that totally wouldn't fly in TX. In TX, they want 6-12 pages per position that you've held. From one of the TX forms:

In describing your experience, use specific tasks such as: I designed, I calculated, I analyzed, I recommended, etc. Avoid using vague terms such as: I was assigned to, I was responsible for, in charge of, participated in, etc.

In Colorado, they want you to specifically hightlight "progressive engineering experience."