Non-traditional ME student frustrated beyond belief.

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exovetech

Reaction score
Hi. My name's Seth. Here's my situation (the abridged version believe it or not) I have 12 years of experience as an avionics and weapons systems technician in the Marine Corps (5 as Marine and 7 as a contractor). I have an outstanding record with awards for various accomplishments as a technician. I received my transfer engineering degree with a GPA of 3.94, however after transferring to UW (ME), I had an absolutely horrific experience. The first year I was losing half my day to commuting and was dealing with medical issues related to my time in service (neurological) and ADHD that did not adversely impact me when I had more time in a day and I was able to immerse myself in my work. I will soon graduate with something between a 2.3 and 2.4 GPA if I’m lucky. What irritates me about this is that if I were not a transfer student, I would be able to include my first two years and have a GPA above 3.0. This is in my mind a serious equity issue when it comes to non-traditional students competing with traditional students for a job. Aerospace is likely out of the question for me now, which is what I have been working towards for 17 years.

I’m 38 years old and got a late start in life due to good ol’ fashioned socioeconomics and situations beyond my control. Should I just give up on this fantasy that I can catch up this late in life starting a new career? Should I marginalize myself and settle for something far less than what I feel I have earned? Any advice would be welcome.