My Power PE Experience

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

a4u2fear

Reaction score
I wanted to post my experience with the exam as I hope it will help someone in the future in a similar situation.

I graduated in 2007 with a BS in EE and have been working since then in many different fields/jobs.  I got into the electrical utility industry in 2016.  I took the Electrical FE in December of 2017 and passed on my first try (studied off and on starting in August 2017).  I didn’t have an issue submitting the paperwork to NY in order to sit for the PE exam, and was approved.  The process of filling it out was not fun, but it’s hard to document your experience sometimes.

I was going to be deployed to Puerto Rico to help with restoration efforts in middle to late January of 2018, so I didn’t sign up for the exam or study for it immediately.  This deployment was later cancelled, and all of a sudden it was a full go for the PE exam in April with study efforts beginning in February.  I was told to take the exam even if I wasn’t ready for it so I could maybe pass it; or at least get a good feel for what would be on the exam.  This is still great advice in my book.  It helped work paid for it as well.