Multiple Attempts in Texas.. Next Steps?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hii! This is my first time posting on this forum. I just found out I failed for the 3rd time in Texas. I am trying to figure out what my next steps are. I still have the will to try again but I don't think I can wait another year. Is there another option? Is anyone else in the same boat. Any help is greatly appreciated! I took Test masters all 3 times and am thinking I should trying something different. The first 2 attempts were in Transportation and this 3rd time I tried my luck at Water Resources. Thanks for your help.

Take some college courses quick!

If you did not pass the PE exam within the three allotted opportunities, you will need to re-apply to take the exams. You must gain at least one year of additional engineering experience from the time you are notified of failure to pass the third exam, or complete six credit hours of college engineering course before you can re-apply. (Board Rule §133.87(c))

Last edited by a moderator:
Can it be in a community college level? or does it need to be ABET? Also, I thought this was only true in Texas?

I assume the extra courses would have to be at an ABET accredited school. The Board rule I posted is from Texas. Not sure about other states. 

You can always try to apply in another state. worst they can say is no. 

I don't have any recommendations because my discipline is not Civil. But look around on here. I am sure there are plenty of recommendations.

Any recommendations on test prep outside of Test Masters?
I paid for the EET courses, and they worked fabulous for me. In addition to the binders they sent me, I created tabbed binders with all the practice problems I found (tabbed per exam specifications).