Malpractice insurance for a PE. Where to get who pays for it?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rafsan06

Reaction score
Hi,
I just passed the PE exam and in the processes of getting licensed now. I am working for a company and would be stamping for them exclusively. In these cases who pays for the Insurance? What is the norm?
Also, what are the places one can get those insurances? How much they cost typically?

I am totally new to these things and was my 100% focus was on passing the exam. Any information regarding setting up as a PE would be great...

Thanks

I know I'm covered under my companies insurance. Boss added me in and that was that. Sorry, not too much help here other than the company pays the insurance.

Have you asked your employer about this yet? Or do you want more info before going to them in case you want to negotiate?

I know I'm covered under my companies insurance. Boss added me in and that was that. Sorry, not too much help here other than the company pays the insurance.

Have you asked your employer about this yet? Or do you want more info before going to them in case you want to negotiate?
I have not talked with them. They know i just passed the PE and they are preparing to negotiate the terms. So, i was trying to familiarize myself with what is the norm and what to expect.

My company also pays for professional liability insurance. Be forewarned that in some states, you are also personally liable for your work product when you apply your engineering seal.

If I’m not mistaken, the insurance is called E&O (Errors and Omissions) Insurance and it typically costs a couple thousand a year. Google E&O insurance...

Yes, as other have said, your company should cover the cost. But you should verify that they added your name to their policy before you start stamping anything.