I want to become an environmental engineer??

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AirlinePilot

Reaction score
Hello i am currently a freshman at Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania. I have to take a few remedial courses because I dropped out of high school and earned my GED. So it is going to take me a total of 3 years to complete all the courses i need to transfer. Now I was looking at University of Pittsburgh as my top choice, then Drexel, then Iowa State, then Oklahoma State, then Temple. I'm worried that because of my situation I will not be as competitive when it comes to getting a job. What is the demand of environmental engineers? I want to help the environment and stop pollution, and make decent money. Hypothetically speaking, say i maintain a 3.0 GPA and go to one of these schools and earn a degree in environmental engineering will I be able to secure a job right out of college? Drexel University actually has a Co-op unlike PITT, and it costs 15K a year more to go there. My long term goal is in fact to become an airline pilot. Engineering is something I know I would enjoy and I mainly want it as a stepping stone/backup in case aviation does not work out. You see when i get out of school I will be spending 50K-100K over a few years in flight training, then I will have to instruct for low wages while I do this I want to be an engineer. In fact i'm even considering jsut doing away with an aviation career and just focusing on engineering, that way Ill just buy my own general aviation aircraft to fly. A major concern of mine is how I am going to invest 10K a year in the stock market for retirement and pay for everything else? Because investing for retirement is crucial too me.

First pass the math course work. Then worry about where you are going to transfer to.