Getting stamps from another company

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
I am a relatively new Mechanical Engineer with a small company that does not have a PE. We make tools/walkways/lifting devices/etc. for construction companies and other similar groups. I have heard that it is illegal for another company to stamp our products without being directly involved in the design process. We usually send our drawing sets to a PE(not under our payroll/is paid per job) after the project has been designed, for the PE to stamp. Are there any other suggestions for how we should proceed on further projects if this is illegal/frowned upon other than just hiring a full time PE? I would like to make sure that our company complies by any rules that are necessary instead of just leaving for a company that does things better. If there are any rules that apply to this(I live in Arizona), can you please include them so I can reference them/show them to my employer if necessary? Thank you for any input, as I would like to make sure my career starts on the right path.

A couple of things:

1) It really depends on your state's laws. Some are strict enough to say that a PE cannot stamp a design/drawing unless they have had direct supervisory control over the project, period. But there are others that provide limited exceptions, which usually involve the stamping engineer thoroughly documenting their review process against the design and retaining it for a period of time. You didn't list your state, so the first thing I'll say is: check your state's engineering laws.