Can a wireless router go bad?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lumber Jim

EB Supporting Member
Reaction score
About a week ago, the WIFI in our house became intermittent at best. I'm not very tech savvy when it comes to wireless and so I'm not sure if I need to purchase a new wireless router or complain some more to our cable internet provider so I am recruiting your expertise.

Here's the story...

We have a WNDR3400 NETGEAR router that we purchased about 4 years ago. Over the course of that time we have had to replace the cable company's modem and update cables throughout our house in order to improve signal. At the time that we required a new modem we chose a Motorola. It's a few years old now. I don't remember the model but it has blue lights, green lights, and an orange signal light that apparently means that it is "communicating". We have had technicians from the cable company out to our house twice since the new modem install because of poor signal. ~1.5 years ago the cable company ran a heavier cable to the house in order to improve signal. The new heavier cable seemed to have worked except for every couple of months we have the signal fail and have to reset our devices. All in all, not a big deal since we are out in the middle of podunk county. By the way, the router is currently located less than 12 ft from any of the devices that use its signal.