CA lawyer wanting to take FE exam in order to take patent bar

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikeesq

Reaction score
I am a lawyer in california and want to become a patent attorney. I was a finance major in college but took 2 years of science courses. (physics, calc, chem, bio).

I can go back to college and take about 5 or 6 courses or take the FE exam. I think from my research that i can take the test in either utah or michigan.

My question is: how hard is this exam? I relearned everything for the CA bar in 2 months and passed the first time. I am well versed and enjoy math and science. Can one actually study for 3 months (im thinking about taking the april exam) and pass this exam? How much memorization is involved? Is it more actual 4 years of knowledge or just a lot of memorizing formulas and understanding basic concepts?

Thanks for your help.

Welcome to the site mikeesq,

I can't help with your question since I haven't taken the EIT in years. But I am curious about your career goals. I know that patent lawyers have to have degrees in both law and science. Do you have a science degree or do you plan to get one, and why do you need to take the EIT/FE exam. Do you want to take the PE exam eventually.

I am a lawyer in california and want to become a patent attorney. I was a finance major in college but took 2 years of science courses. (physics, calc, chem, bio).
I can go back to college and take about 5 or 6 courses or take the FE exam. I think from my research that i can take the test in either utah or michigan.
I think you could pass it but in your case I would take an FE review course - it will help you target your studying.

Last edited by a moderator: