Please help how to study to pass Geotech

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

S Go Geo

Reaction score
Hello all, 
I really need help and advice of how to study for PE. Any comments or advise will be greatly appreciated. 

2018 October was the 3rd attempt. 2019 April exam will be the 4th attempt. I am so lost and really don't know how to study. If there are any ways to follow or any books I must study
to pass the exam,I would definitely follow them. My background and work experiences are actually not related with geotech. I graduated with Architectural engineering Bachelors
degree not in US and have been working for general contractors as a project manager and an estimator for almost 10 years.

Last year I studied with EET and it was helpful for the AM session definitely. I  have studied NCEES problems, 6 minutes and the unsure sources I could collect like Goswami and PPI.
I thought I was quite prepared for AM but I still cannot believe my score.  

Depth is more problem for me. Should the exam takers be the only ones who work for the related field?  
Like many exam takers being said, I should have solved PE problems with my educated knowledge and could not find what problems are asking in any materials I have...  
I have studied CERM and solved NCEES sample questions, 6 minutes and others I could get as pdf files.  
This time I have bought "Geotechnical Engineer's Portable Handbook" by Robert W Day. I have not read through every page but I tried to be familiar with topics PE exam asks and was very
helpful for some problems for PM session.
Do I need to buy more books and read through? I have "Principles of Foundation Engineering by Braja A Das" and "Introduction to Geotechnical Engineering by Braja A Das" and have