Individual Liability and Asset Insurance

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mama said PE is the devil

Reaction score
I am a professor at a university in Pennsylvania and just became licensed as a P.E. If I wanted to consult and/or review and stamp drawings in addition to my normal job, how does liability insurance work for this?

Since I would be performing duties outside of my traditional job scope, I assume that normal university coverage would not be appilicable to the additional work. Does anyone have experience with purchasing individual liability insurance to cover engineering work? If so, what company specializes in this, and how much is a typical insurance plan? 

Adding on to the liability insurance, is it common practice to purchase an asset protection plan with a P.E. license?

I am a professor at a university in Pennsylvania and just became licensed as a P.E. If I wanted to consult and/or review and stamp drawings in addition to my normal job, how does liability insurance work for this?

Since I would be performing duties outside of my traditional job scope, I assume that normal university coverage would not be appilicable to the additional work. Does anyone have experience with purchasing individual liability insurance to cover engineering work? If so, what company specializes in this, and how much is a typical insurance plan? 

Adding on to the liability insurance, is it common practice to purchase an asset protection plan with a P.E. license?