When to Start Studying

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ca_enright

Reaction score
I have about two years before I complete the experience requirement and plan to apply to test.  When should I start studying? Studying for the FE took me about 9 months and I didn't feel comfortable at that pace, and only some of my day-to-day job is relevant to the exam material.

I intend to take civil - transportation (I work in railroad engineering).

Thanks!

@ca_enright, it really depends on you and your knowledge, test taking ability, time available to study, etc. 

The test subject matter can change within the next 2 years so I wouldn't get too dedicated now. But it might be a benefit to borrow some study material from coworkers/library. Watch some youtube videos, take a practice test, look through your old college notes/books. This will help you get an idea of how much time you need. You can start getting serious about 12 months before the exam and turn into a hermit within 6 months of the exam.   

Last edited by a moderator:
I have about two years before I complete the experience requirement and plan to apply to test.  When should I start studying? Studying for the FE took me about 9 months and I didn't feel comfortable at that pace, and only some of my day-to-day job is relevant to the exam material.

I intend to take civil - transportation (I work in railroad engineering).

Thanks!
So when you say you weren't comfortable with the pace of 9 months of studying for the FE, do you mean that was not enough time still? I am assuming that but just want to confirm. If that is the case, I would agree with Matt. Start sooner rather than later but the transportation code with most likely change by then.