I have some questions!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mattchew

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have read throught a few good posts here but still have so many questions about the FE and PE exams.

I am studying Mechatronics at MTSU and plan on taking the FE in December. Since my concentration is a combination of mechanical, electrical and computer engineering I will be taking the Other Disipline FE exam.

Is there any reason to take more then one FE exam? Would taking the Electrical and Computer FE along with the Other Disciplines benefit me in any way?

I am also looking into an exam course and have come across so many. I have narrowed it down to Testmasters, PPI, and School of PE. I feel that on demand will fit my needs best. Does anyone have any strong pros and cons I should consider before choosing one of the courses?

Thank you in advance,

Matthew.

Is there any reason to take more then one FE exam?
No. Take the one that feels the best for you. Check NCEES' exam outlines. 

Would taking the Electrical and Computer FE along with the Other Disciplines benefit me in any way?
No. You only need to pass 1 FE exam to take the PE. 

I have narrowed it down to Testmasters, PPI, and School of PE.
I have never taken a Testmasters course, but I did a PPI course for some PE topics. At the time, it was a word for word dictation from their book. I did not find it worth my time. I took the School of PE while studying for the FE and parts of the PE. I think they're the better choice. 

Thank you for your fast reply!

No. Take the one that feels the best for you. Check NCEES' exam outlines. 
So you take one FE then one PE. Do employers ever hire based on your PE concentration?

I took the School of PE while studying for the FE and parts of the PE. I think they're the better choice.