East TN Electrical Engineer : Exam Eligibility Woes

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Love_Hertz

Reaction score
Good Morning Crew,

I am an electrical engineer at a Federally Funded Research and Development Center in East Tennessee. I started my career off with a BS EET in 2003 and got a job as a technician, then worked my way into a engineering role. Around 2011 I went back to the University of Tennessee for my BS in Electrical Engineering, I completed that degree in 2014. I then started work on my MS in Electrical Engineering at the University of Tennessee and finished that this semester. I worked continuously at the FFRDC the entire time. I also had a RA position at UT during my MS. My thesis was in microelectronics design. 

Most of my work experience has been board level and system level design of electronics and electrical systems for radiation detection electronics, motion control and automation for laboratory systems. I have done a mix of hardware, software and firmware. The majority of this time has been with one group at the FFRDC, which had no PE's in the group. Now I have switched positions and the new group also has no PE's.

So I am looking for guidance on how to handle the progressive engineering experience requirement for PE supervision. How can I get the experience requirement? All the electrical PE's I know don't do board level and system level electronics. Most electronics guys work under the industrial exemption and don't get the PE because of that.

The way I am funded at work requires the drafting of proposals to government agencies. I want to get my PE to help my proposals stand out and show that by funding me they are getting an engineered product.