FE exam experience - 10 years out of school

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Def

Reaction score
I enjoyed reading some of the approaches and techniques for the FE exam when I recently took it, so I thought I'd share my experience in the hopes that it might help someone else. It's a little long, but I wish I had read more of these positive experiences of people out of school for a while when I was preparing for my exam.

I graduated with a BSME 10 years ago, and my senior capstone class interfered with me being able to take the FE exam (EIT exam back then actually) my final semester. I thought no big deal, I'll just take it in the next year... then I found myself getting my first job in Aerospace (military fighter jets specifically), and NO ONE had a PE. Everybody I talked to said it was unimportant. As tends to happen, life came along and I quickly forgot about becoming an EIT and getting a PE.