Changing Discipline for 2nd Attempt?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffHubbard

Reaction score
Did any of you repeat takers out there ever change your discipline for the 2nd time? I found out that I just failed the ME T&F Systems. This is my first time taking the PE. I was not really keen on this discipline, but it seemed like the lesser of the evils based on the passing scores from the previous year. I was more keen on taking the MD discipline, but I did not get a chance to do any of the MD practice problems before I registered. I am trying to decide what to take for the April exam. Should I take the T&F systems again, even though I really don't care for the material, or should I start fresh and take the MD? Any positive inputs would be appreciated because I really feel like crawling in a corner and dying right now.

Thanks

How close were you to passing? What sections were you weak on, etc? I'm terrified waiting, and I took the same test. I've thought a lot about switching if I fail so I'll be following till I find out, maybe after. 

I was really not close to passing at all and I studied for a very long time. I passed the FE the first time, but I was fresh out of school. I am a Manufacturing Engineer that works more as a Machine Designer right now. MD would have been a better path, but there are some sections in that discipline that I am not too keen on either, nor do I use at all in my current job. I don't need my PE for my current job. I was just taking it for my personal satisfaction. I just don't know if it's better to stick with the same discipline or go another route.

" ...I was not really keen on this discipline, but it seemed like the lesser of the evils based on the passing scores from the previous year."