got PE license, time for a raise?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qiudogcool

Reaction score
I recently got PE license in Electrical and my boss knew about it. I am a communications engineer for a small consulting firm. I have 4 years of experience and a masters' degree. I am a woman. What is a fair market value? I get paid about high 60s now. I want to ask for a raise. I am paid hourly, and do get paid for OT. I am just curious about what number I should ask for. I live in Utah.

Last edited by a moderator:
You haven't told us where you live. Out in California where I am, high 60's seems very low, especially with your qualifications. Granted it's more expensive to live out here.

The other question to be asked is whether your PE license is benefiting the firm. Will you be reviewing and stamping plans now? Or does it allow your company to offer consulting services it couldn't before?

The PE is a mark of increasing technical competency, and the ability to carry more responsibility. Whether that means you will be taking on more responsibility is not necessarily as clear-cut.

Exactly Lomarandil

1. Does your company care that you are licensed. How does it benefit THEM?

2. Say it does benefit them then you:

a. research what you should be making

b. take on additional responsiblity then you were before to justify earning the additional money

Good luck. In my experience most people don't get the money that the market says they should be staying at their same company upon getting licensed. Usually there isn't another position to go into to justify the higher salary or you are still viewed as "whatever you were initially hired to do" and so management can't wrap their head around giving you more money.