what would you do

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilikespe

Reaction score
Let's say you are not sure how you did on pe and have new job offer. Would you wait for pe results and not takejob in case retake or ttake the job?

what does one have to do with the other? you're not being very clear.

Well new job means less time to study. You are on probation period snd you would have to learn new things in new job while study for pe.

I'm sure that you can find time to do both. There are ppl on this site who have had kids and still preped for the exam and passed. You just need to figure out who to best delegate your time.

Do you need the PE for the job?

In this economy, take the job offer.

If you need to, you'll have to find time to re study. I studied for the eit after being out of school for 8 years with a full time job, wife, daughter, and volunteer work. I passed and I'm not the smartest guy on the block.

^IMHO

I don't need for job but to start my consulting I would in the event of no job. Also there are three tries for pe.

Look, I think you can juggle both. I have successfully prepared for the PE and had a child at the same time. It took some drive on my part, but if the PE is something that you really want which I presume it is, then you can surely find a way to make it happen. What worked for me was to study in the evenings after everyone in my has had gone to bed, every night from 8 pm to around 11 pm. I studied on that schedule from June/July until the exam date. Maybe studying evenings will be the best option for you considering the requirements of the new job.

Most states that have limits have them in order wether you take them or not so check on that....

I.e. if you fail your first try and skip the next exam offering then you only have 4 tries left (in GA)