Help! Should I go to grad school?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamTCE

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a female civil engineering student and will be graduating in May with a BSCE. I have been offered the opportunity by a professor to work as a research assistant while going to graduate school for an MSCE. My professor works in railroad design, and by working for him I would be able to go out in the field, travel, and gain research experience working for the railroad. This seems fun to me, as I enjoy learning about track/train dynamics and thoroughly enjoy my current Railroad design class. My MSCE would be paid for, and I would get a stipend from the university as well.

I have a problem, however, as I cannot see myself going to school for any longer. My GPA is acceptable to get into graduate school, however the amount of anxiety, stress, and work that went into keeping my GPA at a 3.3 is not something I wish to endure for another 1-2 years. I really struggled through the past 4 years, and have been very much looking forward to starting my career. I worked for a small highway contractor over the summer on a runway reconstruction project, where I gained practical experience in the field. I learned so much last summer, and have been offered a full-time job with this company after graduation. I feel as though gaining the work experience is SO important, and many engineers lack the common sense that comes with field experience. Also, I love working and getting hands-on experience.