Which Exam - Mechanical or Civil

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeonPE

Peon, 2nd Class
Reaction score
Hello,

Quick background on me: I am a mechanical engineering grad with some background on manufacturing but most of my career spent working for State DOT (Construction / Structures / Highway Design). I have my approval to sit for my PE Exam. I am going to make an attempt at it this October doing Civil - Transportation.

With that being said I got married this summer and had several events in my life that really did not let me prepare the way I would have liked to. So I have some hours invested but not to where I am confident I will pass. I will give it my best obviously but if I was a gambling man I would expect I'll have to try again in the Spring. Not trying to be negative - just realistic.

Now with the specification changes to the Spring 2013 Transporation Depth - and lack of an updated study materials for some time - I am at a crossroads. I have all the updated afternoon references (thank you work!) but without actually going through the 12th or 13th CERM & Transporation Depth Books, 6 Minute Solutions, Kaplan Book, etc. I really don't know if the equations / constants and such have changed much. Bottom line - I do not want to study with materials that will steer me on the wrong course.

So since I am stuck buying new books anyways I have two choices:

1) Continue with the Civil - Transpo

2) Change gears and do Mechanical - Fluids / MD / HVAC

Cost wise it comes out the same since I do not have to buy any references for the Afternoon module.