boussinesq contour chart

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stuckinjersey

Reaction score
I am not a structural engineer, just a water resources engineer trying to pass the exam.

hopefully you structures people can help! I have no idea how to use the boussinesq stress contour chart and I can't figure it out. can anyone provide a reference on how to read these things or any instructions?

I thought I knew, but I get the wrong answer on all the review problems using this chart. I searched online and cannot find a "how to".

the chart has semi-circular pressure bulbs at various intervals (0.1P, 0.2P, 0.3P....) and the axis say 0.5B, 1B, 1.5B, 2B

I am not a structural engineer, just a water resources engineer trying to pass the exam.
hopefully you structures people can help! I have no idea how to use the boussinesq stress contour chart and I can't figure it out. can anyone provide a reference on how to read these things or any instructions?

I thought I knew, but I get the wrong answer on all the review problems using this chart. I searched online and cannot find a "how to".

the chart has semi-circular pressure bulbs at various intervals (0.1P, 0.2P, 0.3P....) and the axis say 0.5B, 1B, 1.5B, 2B
are you taking the structural exam? Or the water resources/enviro depth? I don't even know what you are talking about and I've passed the PE exam (I took transpo depth).

Stuck,

What you are asking is not structural, this is geotech. This table should be found in the CERM.

Edit: Moved to the CE section. Mods, you can toss this one if you want.

Last edited by a moderator:
Stuck,