Electrical PE

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Also, I work for BE&K Engineering in Controls/Instruments in NC. Name is Eric.

I just took the EE this April for the first time.

I will be better prepared if I take it again.

I took the test this April 1st time too. EEC depth module.

I studied long and hard...and to be frank, left the test pretty pissed because I thought it was more a referendum on how many and which ref materials a person was fortunate enough to have bought/brought--than it was a candidate's suitability as PE.

I feel I did real well on the AM section--only guessing--educated guesses on 2 or 3. The afternoon I had *wild* guesses on at least 20 problems. The sample NCEES, and "the other board" exam materials were a joke. Not one of the problems on the examples were anywhere near as hard as the actual depth test. I brought *every* undergrad text I had (3 milkcrate full) and several problems and terms were not found in any of the textbooks.

I feel that I could have studied 2 more years and it would not have made any difference in my final score.

If I passed, it will be a 'barely' thing. I hold some hope. If I did fail, I plan to re-take next April and will take 2 grad classes in Controls before attempting again...

Paul

I also took the Electrical PE - Power module for the first time in April. I think I did better in the morning session than the afternoon. I don't think the NCEES sample exam was worth much in helping you prepare for the test. Pretty much a waste of money.

For myself, I thought the EERM from "the other board" was pretty good and I did take the prep course from "the other board". I have mixed feelings on that. It was real beneficial to help me organize and structure my studies.