What to do?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wvgirl14

Reaction score
Pipestem, :::::::::::::::wv:::::::::::::::
I have a interesting quandary. I recently took the FE Exam, and am awaiting results. I have been mulling this decision over for awhile and thought I would get some feedback and advice. If and when I do pass the FE I would like to start trying to study and earn my PE. Here is where I have the issue. I have enough professional experience to sit, but what to PE exam to take is the question. My degree is in Architectural Engineering (and I have seen the post about this not being a engineering field so don't bother responding if you are going to go there) and I also have an Associates in Civil Engineering (I only lack 4 class from a Bachelors and should have taken them but that is another story). I worked 3 years in the A/E world as a Assistant Project Manager and Architectural Design Technician for a small Architectural firm. Basically I assisted the Structural Designer and work on some basic Electrical and Mechanical Design, but mostly took care of the Civil Design and working on designing the contract documents and working drawings. I left the A/E firm and have spent 3 years in a Engineering Consulting firm as a Permit Assistant and Staff Engineer. I work on Surface Mining Application (please don't give me feedback on your political view of this), NPDES Permit, and Perform the Calculations and Design Refuse Disposal Facilities. I do some drainage work and pipe design. So here in lies the question do I take the Architectural PE exam or do I take the Civil and if I do take the Civil which Civil? I have all of my A/E college books, but there are not many references for the A/E PE exam plus I know it is heavy mechanical, electrical, and structural and I didn't get into alot of that. So help me out guys w