EIT waiver with Work Experience

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tq786

Reaction score
Any one can tell me where I can find information regarding how to waive EIT/FE exam with work experience? I have Masters in civil engineering from USA and second masters in Civil engineering from UK and BS in civil engineering from Pakistan. I have approximately 10 years of work experience.

Thanks in advanced for your help.

Regards

depends on the state you're in, chief - none of your credentials automatically qualify you for waiving the exam (a Phd is different story). I don't know of experience ever being allowed as qualification for waiving the FE truthfully, but again, depends on the state youre seeking licensure in.

In California I thinksit's 15 years documented experience under a PE. Unless you've worked at the same place your whole life, and have understanding references, it's probably easier to just take the test.

To waive the FE Exam, in Colorado, your four year engineering degree plus 20 years of experience, which education may apply. You will have to verify with your state how many years may be deducted with your education, but a typical bachelor degree would require 16 years of experience. This is statute 114-25-114(2)(b)(IV). See link:

http://www.dora.state.co.us/aes/licensing/...ts-pepls.htm#pe

To waive the FE Exam, in Colorado, your four year engineering degree plus 20 years of experience, which education may apply. You will have to verify with your state how many years may be deducted with your education, but a typical bachelor degree would require 16 years of experience. This is statute 114-25-114(2)(B)(IV). See link:

http://www.dora.state.co.us/aes/licensing/...ts-pepls.htm#pe
That 20 year experience requirement applies to both the PE and EI (FE). It's 20 years experience with neither exam.