FE Exam Questions

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RyanUD

Reaction score
Hey guys! I am currently an intern going into my senior year at UDelaware majoring in chemical engineering and was advised by a co-worker that it would be a good idea to take the FE exam while still in school, while it's much easier to do. I haven't heard much about the FE exam until my google search this morning and was hoping for some general tips, information, pretty much anything. Here's what I've found out so far:

- CBT version may be the more convenient way to take the exam

- "Other Disciplines" exam may be easier since questions don't go too far in depth

- Definitley worth taking (even if never used)

One of my main questions is if I pass the exam here in DE and get certified, what would happen if I accept/get a job in another state, say, NC? Would I have to retake and pass the exam?

Any and ALL advice would be greatly appreciated. My current plan is to take the exam April 2015. Thank you!

the FE is good no matter where you take it. when applying for the PE you just have to contact the state you took it for them to verify.

With the switch to CBT, which is the only way to take the test now, the exams are now written specific to the disiciple...hyopthectically making it easier and more relavant since it is taylored to the chemical in your situation. The "other disciplines " in the new format is designed for those who do not have a listed disciple test. go to the ncees website and look at the test content and your determination from that.

Don't get downhearted when you don't find a lot of study material for the chemical test.

Don't get downhearted when you don't find a lot of study material for the chemical test.