Prep for PE civil structural in CA

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GermanAndGreen

Reaction score
Hi,

just got the result back that I passed my FE civil exam. Since I have the mendatory 6 years of experience, I can now take my PE. Probaly not gonna happen in October - won't get my references and paperwork done in 8 days - so April it is!

I'm trying to figuere out what books and materials I should buy and where from. PPI2pass.com, amazon.com, craigslist, ... ?

I'm also interested in any form of study-group or at least have contact with fellow soon-to-be-PEs in California, preferable in the Bay Area.

I am from Germany but I live in San Francisco now.

Thanks!

Welcome!

There are lots of threads discussing which references people found useful and which weren't, but to be brief, just know that you won't want or need all of the suggested references. A book you can't or don't have time to use is a $100 desk weight. Take a look in the Civil exam prep section for more information.

As for how to acquire them, beg and borrow what you can. Even if some of your references are an edition or two old, that can be ok (depending on the reference). Depending on what you already have in your library for work, books can add up fast.

Good luck!

Thanks Lomarandil,

I spent some time comparing materials and different offers. I eventually ordered from amazon (new and used) and ppi2pass.com. Be careful if you order from ppi, some of their stuff is cheaper on amazon, the bundles include mostely too much stuff and before you order, search for promo codes (20%off).

Private sales turned out to be as expensive as amazon used or too old.

Sorry to all who I contacted and didn't buy from.

For now I have:

NEW:

CERM by Lindeburg, 14th edition

Practice Problems for CE PE exam by Lindeburg, 14th edition