Unsuccessful passing Electrical Power PE

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aerofrank

AeroFrank
Reaction score
To whom It May Concern:

Sad to say I was unsuccessful in passing the Electrical Power PE exam. Planning on retaking the exam in October of 2010. Manage to only answer half of the problems correctly. Ran out of time on the morning session of the exam. I'm pretty much at my wits in even trying again. Sorry to sound so cynical, but I'm an Aerospace Engineer (semi-retired), who just wants to design, develop and test high speed vehicles (MAGLEV, TGV, Light rail etc);however even if I apply to companies (Bombardier, Altsom, Siemens etc), I need a PE license to get my foot in the door. By law in the US you can't market yourself as a Professional Engineer, witrhout a license. Unfortunely

NCEES dropped the Aeronautical/Aerospace test sometime ago, and the Mechanical PE exam doesn't have any modules close to AERO problems. My strongest points were in Electromechanical Energy Systems and Electromagnetics in college, thus I feel the power exam would be at least easier and more interesting. My breakdown from NCEES showed my strongest points were Electrical Machines (70>). The books I took to the exam included the following.

1. Beaty, EC&M Electrical Calculations, NEC 2008, EERM 6th edition, Wildi 5th edition, Grainger,

Additional notes, NCEES sample exam, schaum's outline series (Power systrems.

electromachines, and electric circuits). That covers it. Used some notes, the three schaum's

and the EERM for most of the problems.