Structural Depth Preparation

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noghre111

Reaction score
I am taking the Civil PE exam, "structural depth" this october. I have 32 days left to the exam.

I started studying 3 months ago. Studied the structural chapters of CERM for one month. Then I studied the AM Topics and now I feel prepared for AM portion. I need to go back to structural and refresh my memory on the topics I studied before, and solve problems. What is the best way to study for structural depth?

thank you. :thankyou:

In my opinion, these two were sufficient. Also, I recommend taking all of the codes/references that are on the NCEES list for Structural Depth.

NCEES Civil:Structural Sample Questions & Solutions book

Six-Minute Solutions for Civil PE Exam Structural Problems book

In my opinion, these two were sufficient. Also, I recommend taking all of the codes/references that are on the NCEES list for Structural Depth.

Six minute problem is way too hard for PE exam. I went through it and some problems will take more than 6 minutes if you just copy the content of solved problem from one paper to another.

They are very complex and require good knowledges and design experience

I agree, 6 min solutions problems seem too difficult. I am planning on going over them so hopefully I'll be over-prepared for the test. Unfortunately I'm feeling overwhelmed with structural depth, there is simply too much material to cover.

Thanks.

I agree, 6 min solutions problems seem too difficult. I am planning on going over them so hopefully I'll be over-prepared for the test. Unfortunately I'm feeling overwhelmed with structural depth, there is simply too much material to cover.
Thanks.