Career Transition - Private to Public sector

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buffalo

Magnum P.E.
Reaction score
Has anyone moved from Private Sector to Public sector employment? The pay will be less in the public sector, but I am hoping that taking a step back will lead to better career training and more opportunities down the road. I am now soliciting opinions about making such a career move.

Kind of vague but..

I went from working in MEP Consulting (small firms, 30-70 people) to working at the Water Company and I enjoy it. I make more money, better benefits, less stress, less hours worked etc. I enjoy my transition and I do consulting on the side for extra money.

I worked in the private sector for about 8 years before moving to public sector. I had worked in the oil field, where I made big bucks but just about destroyed my health and sanity with 100+ hour weeks, and then I worked for an A&E firm doing construction management. I went to work for a state-level environmental agency and was very happy with the move. I had absolutely sane hours, lower stress, actually had "fun", and my private sector experience made me a superior performer. And like you said I took advantage of a lot of training opportunities and eventually used that to transition to an entirely new branch of engineering from where I had started. And also as you said, it exposes you to a lot of employment opportunities, provided of course you are a good worker and have decent interpersonal skills.

Now I am in the federal government, which significantly ups the pay and benefits side of the equation, and at the same time I am assigned to a municipal-level water and wastewater utility, so I am seeing both of those sides of public sector work, and both are really great.

I don't regret the move from private to public at all.