How much room do you get on the exam?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

micahferguson1

Reaction score
How much space does each person have when taking the exam? Is it just a small desk? Table?

Just trying to get an idea so that im studying as close to the real thing as possible.

at my testing location they are large office tables about the size of a folding table. two to a table so you get half of it. it's more than enough considering you can leave your lesser-used reference materials on the floor next to you.

Last edited by a moderator:
At Pratt I believe the desks were about 30" x 30" ( I measured using my machinist rule).

at my testing location they are large office tables about the size of a folding table. two to a table so you get half of it. it's more than enough considering you can leave your lesser-used reference materials on the floor next to you.
Same here. Two to a table. I felt that I had just enough space though and I put the rest of my books on floor next to me. I couldn't keep my watch on the table so I had to lay it on the floor in a way that I could look down and see it from time to time. I know I could have worn it on my wrist, but I figured it would get in the way and I am not used to the feel of a watch.

depends on the testing location. For the PE i have half of 18 inch wide plywood folding table covered with a table cloth...think hotel banquet. I had to make sure I had a hard surface under the test booklet.

For the FE I had half of regular hardsurface folding table in a church basement.