What I studied - Failed April 2015

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

louisianapipeline

Reaction score
So I have a dilemma. I studied a good bit but fell short. I felt like 75% of what I saw on the construction depth was not presented prior. It did hurt to not have an ACI book but, I also struggled with temporary structures and other items.

I had the CERM, 6 min solutions, and the ncees practice. I also used the online test masters sessions.

I put in about 100 hours between the courses, tabbing, and working around 50 problems outside the course work.

I do pipeline work daily and am not sure if switch to water resources may be more applicable.

Any advice? Suggestions? Or even reference examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone! Here's to round two in October.

LA-

I took construction for the first time in April and passed. Really I would recommend buying all of the listed references by the NCEES exam specification and working problems or examples directly from those...but I think for construction afternoon temp structures: ACI347 / SP4 is a must have. There is no way I would have passed without spending some good time with that manual.

I think 6 min solutions had some decent earthworks problems but in my opinion falls a little short in the other areas.

Also..you got to have the OSHA manual and MUTCD. Couldn't tell from your post if you brought those or not....

I did not buy those either - I think I used most of my funds for it on Testmasters, but now I will have. I think between those I could've gotten another 6-7 points :(

I'm sorry about your result. You need to look hard at your study pattern.

IMO, 100 hours and 50 problems is nowhere near where you should be come test day.