Best Books to Buy for Structural PM???

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrewJ

Reaction score
Hello all. Can someone advise me as to the best books to buy to prepare for the afternoon portion of the civil: structural PE exam? I am looking at the following list but I don't have the resources to buy them all:

Structural Depth Reference Manual for the Civil PE Exam (CEST2), 2nd Edition (buying this one for sure)

NCEES PE Civil: Structural Sample Questions & Solutions (NCPECS)

Six-Minute Solutions for Civil PE Exam Structural Problems (SXCST3), 3rd Edition

Bridge Design for the Civil and Structural PE Exams (CEBR2), 2nd Edition

Seismic Design of Building Structures (SEIS9), 9th Edition

Do I need to buy a separate book for seismic and bridge design? Is it worth the cost to buy those books? I have limited experience in both and since I'm taking the test in April, I'm not sure I will have time to adequately study for either. I'm hoping the Structural Reference Manual will cover Timber enough for me to get those questions.

Also, which practice set would be better to buy, the 6 minute solutions or the Structural Sample Questions and Solutions (Full practice exam, 80 questions)??

Any and all advice greatly appreciated.

-Drew

Hello all. Can someone advise me as to the best books to buy to prepare for the afternoon portion of the civil: structural PE exam? I am looking at the following list but I don't have the resources to buy them all:
Structural Depth Reference Manual for the Civil PE Exam (CEST2), 2nd Edition (buying this one for sure)

Six-Minute Solutions for Civil PE Exam Structural Problems (SXCST3), 3rd Edition