Can Volunteer Design Work be placed on A PE Application?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scalzo489

Reaction score
I am currently a civil engineer at a medium-sized Civil Engineering company. As a member of the company I have worked in the design department on structural calculations and roadway design as well as construction management. I have been with the company for almost 4 years and I am hoping to increase my design experience for the Experience portion of the PE application. My job though requires me to be flexible as their demand for certain tasks change. I may be seeing a lot more construction management over the next few months and therefore I would not be gaining design experience.

I enjoy doing volunteer work for my local community as a firefighter and through habitat for humanity. I feel like doing volunteer work in my field would be a bonus. Recently I have found out about Bridges to Prosperity and Engineering Ministries International, both of which give the opportunity for engineers to do design work for their projects. I have already spoken to one of my bosses (who is a PE) and he has offered to look over any design work that I would do for these organizations. Can I put the hours that I work on these projects towards my PE experience as long as my boss is overseeing my work? I am looking to get my PE in New York.