Can PE Power exam help changing job?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AAGR2013

Reaction score
I am thinking of working for utility company. I have no experience with power transmission, substation, relay protection...my current experience is PLC automation for long period time. This industry is not stable comparing to utility, and this industry doesn't require PE license as long as you can programming and commissioning... If I pass PE power exam and can get offer? Your advice helps me to decide what exam to take.

Not many PE's with the utility I deal with. However, I would think it would be a 'plus 1' on your job application to them.

I work for a utility and recently got my PE. It definitely helped move me up the engineer ladder quicker. I would need to have about 10 years of utility experience to get where I am now without the PE, so it is a big plus. I think this is becoming more of a common thing for larger utilities expecting their engineer employees to be licensed. I don't even stamp anything for work so it's more looked at as an engineer status/competency thing. It also goes a long way in garnering trust from peers and customers. You should 100% plan on taking the PE Power exam if you'd like to work at a utility.

AAGR2013 I would certainly not discount looking at positions for either design firms or electrical contractors that work with the utilities because they would probably offer you a higher starting salary than the utility.

Good luck on your exam.