Safety Razor vs. Cartridge Razor

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matt267 PE

"1000000 warning points" Club Member
Reaction score
I've been using an electric razor a few years now and it's time for a change.

I was looking at joining one of those shaving clubs like Dollar Shave Club (http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/) or Harry's (https://www.harrys.com/). But I've started reading about safety razors (or double edge razors). Does anyone have any experience shaving with a safety razor? What's the learning curve like? How does it compare to cartridge razors? How long does it take to shave?

The safety razor seems like the best price over the long run and might be worth a try. I just don't want to bleed out while I'm learning or have it take 30 minutes to shave.

I've been using the same razor for 3 months now because I'm cheap. I'm probably the best qualified person to be posting here.

Forget the safety razors, you should go straight for pro:

IMG_0588__97294.1411719849.1280.1280.jpg

See Sapper's thread here: http://engineerboards.com/index.php?showtopic=21937

I tried the dollar shave club and their razors were awful. You might as well go to Wal-Mart and buy the cheapest knockoff disposable razors you can find. Tore my face up. They are in no way equivalent to the higher end razors you get in the store.