PE test - Electronics or Power?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pufferphish

Reaction score
Hello! Starting to get ready to take my PE test, and was hoping to get some idea on which test I should take.

I studied Electronics in college, and passed the Electronics EIT test. I graduated in 2005 and been practicing Power engineering at my job the last 10 years. I work for an electrical testing and maintenance company, mostly doing electrical testing/maintenance (xfmrs, brkrs, relays, switches, cables), arc flash/coordination studies and power quality monitoring.

I'm not sure if my knowledge from working in the industry is going to be enough, and feel like I would have to study a lot of the theory (especially rotating machine and PLCs). I haven't done much electronics in awhile, but studied for and passed my EIT about 4 years ago. I know I'm weak in digital systems and control system theory.

Any ideas on which test I should study for? Ideally I'd like to get materials to study both and see which topics I grasp better, but that will be costly. I feel studying for the power would help me in my job which is a bonus, but passing it is my priority.

Can't really do much in answering your question as I only took the test in power. I guess the answer you need is which section are you going to be better at. For me, college did not give me a lot of insight for what was on the test. Sorry I can't provide any better insight for you.

Ah I see, thanks for the reply either way! While in college, it was always a running joke that the power engineers had it easy compared to the electronics people. :p