Civil: Water Resources/Environmental vs. Environmental only

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pcsurfer2

Reaction score
I took the Civil: Water Resources/Environmental (WRE) PE test April 2014 and just found out that I did not pass. I was wondering if anyone knew if the Environmental only PE test would be easier than the WRE test. I have a degree in Civil but I work as an Environmental Engineer. I work primarily on remediation projects for contaminated petroleum and chlorinated solvent sites. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

First, "easier" is only relative to the person taking the exam. Don't get caught up in all the chatter about which exam is easier, the other exams are always easier than the one you took.

I suggest taking a couple of weeks to be pissed off, clear your head and then get ready to hit the books again.

When you're ready, buy the NCEES Practice Problems & Solutions for Environmental ($40) and solve the depth questions as a practice test, allotting only 6 minutes per question. If you smoke your practice test, switch exams. If you bomb it, stick with WR&E. If you do about the same as the WR&E, flip a coin. In any case you will know what may have been and will not waste any more of your time thinking about "I wonder if ..." You have until July 7th to submit your refile application. This should be plenty of time to get a better idea of where your last exam went wrong and the areas needing more focus.

Once you decide on which exam to take, stay fully committed to your choice and keep your eye on the prize. Good luck.