PE exam without the 4 years of experience

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bristol

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am an internationally educated engineer (Civil) living in Alberta, Canada. Last year I passed the FE exam (on my first try!). Unfortunately, that didn't impress any employers so I am still working as a GIS tech. Nothing wrog with that except that we GIS techs are support people with zero decison power or responsability on anything (and the pay reflects that, by the way).

So, I thought, perhaps if I pass the structural PE exam I may get an oportunity with an engineering company. I asked the local enginner association (APEGA) and they told me that without the mandatory 4 years of experience I cannot take any PE exam. I wouldn't mind waiting the 4 years if I was working as an EIT doing actual engineer work, but since all my experience is on GIS... :shakehead:

I would like to confirm that rule with the forum because the person I asked didn't seem to familiar with the regulations (sorry if this is a silly question).

Thanks a lot!

Bristol

You're not even going to be eligible to sit for the PE. You need 4 years of engineering design experience, a GIS tech job isn't going to cut it most likely.

It seems to me you are working in the wrong firm if they aren't even giving you qualifying work to progress to the PE

There are states that allow you to take the PE exam before you gain your experience, but you will not get your PE registration until all requirements are met. You can look over each state's requirements and pick one that may allow you to sit for the exam. This still will not make you a PE, but if you can demonstrate that you can take and pass the exam, it may make you desirable for a company looking for a new engineer. Best of luck!