When/how to ask for a raise after getting the good news of passing the PE exam

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lundy

Reaction score
So my performance review isn't until late October but if I get my license before then should I ask for a raise before my review?

Technically speaking a good employer will automatically increase your pay or informed you about it. They should also written in handbook

That's my take on it

Technically speaking a good employer will automatically increase your pay or informed you about it. They should also written in handbook

That's my take on it
Respectfully disagree with this. It really depends on the industry you work in and if the PE license will even benefit your employer. When I worked in manufacturing, a PE wasn't required nor what is it used to seal any designs. So by me obtaining my PE license, my job responsibilities and benefit to the company had not changed at all. So I wasn't expecting them to automatically give me a pay increase.

That's my take on it
Respectfully disagree with this. It really depends on the industry you work in and if the PE license will even benefit your employer. When I worked in manufacturing, a PE wasn't required nor what is it used to seal any designs. So by me obtaining my PE license, my job responsibilities and benefit to the company had not changed at all. So I wasn't expecting them to automatically give me a pay increase.
Yes then in that case, maybe a change of career?

Certain industry does not required PE

That's my take on it
Yes then in that case, maybe a change of career?

Certain industry does not required PE
In my company, it is expected that all engineers get licenced hence raises are not automatically given. They pay for the exam, a class, fees, stamp and tolken bonus. We are required to stamp drawings so the PE is necessary.