Recently Passed PE, side work suggestions?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericjosepht

Reaction score
Now that I have the coveted PE after my name, what do my fellow engineers suggest I do to make a little coin in addition to my 9 to 5? I'm a Civil Construction guy.

Thanks in advance!

what do my fellow engineers suggest I do to make a little coin in addition to my 9 to 5?
I'd personally avoid that unless you're ready to pay for insurance. People do it all the time but I don't think most of it do it right and very often end up getting sued.

That said, there are a number of things you can do. You can post your resume on a freelance site or a non-profit board. You can search those sites as well. Back on the East Coast, whenever people heard I'm an engineer, they wanted me to stamp their drawings and work with their real estate/development deals. Those are mostly smaller investors and real estate/development firms who buy buildings in New England and convert them to condos. They often need someone to get property boundaries sorted, parking areas designed/re-designed, unit conversion layouts sorted etc... I have a friend who did some of those but always with people he knew like his father and his partners who are contractors.