Non-traditional students

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CivilNY

Reaction score
Have any non-traditional students ever had to wait less than 4 years after graduation to get their PE license.

I just graduated at 34 years old but I've been working on engineering for 10 years. I live in NY and can't seem to get a good answer.

Most states don't start counting experience until after you graduate... regardless if you had internships or co-ops. But I can't speak for NY. I'm only familiar with the rules for PA and OH.

MD you only need 12 years experience regardless of degree.

I thought NY was the same way.

any other similar state rules. You just have to look around, and you would typically be applying for the "non-degreed" option.

John - do you have any information about the non-degreed option? I never knew there was an option unless you are ABET or demonstrate ABET equivalency. Thanks in advance.

John - do you have any information about the non-degreed option? I never knew there was an option unless you are ABET or demonstrate ABET equivalency. Thanks in advance.

It's varies state-to-state check with your specific state board, some offer it, many don't. I would guess that no two are alike in their "alternative pathways to licensure." I bet it makes comity very difficult if you are hoping to get multiple states.

So you have your FE, correct??

The only state in the NY area I don't think you can get licensed in without an ABET degree is The People's Republic of New Jersey.

So you have your FE, correct??

The only state in the NY area I don't think you can get licensed in without an ABET degree is The People's Republic of New Jersey.