Study Strategy For 8-hour Plus Seismic/Surveying (April 2015)

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CivEnv

Reaction score
I'm taking PE for the first time in April 2015 - 8-hour (Water Resources and Environment depth), as well as the seismic and surveying. I started studying for the 8-hour about a month ago (5-10 hours a week) and am ramping up now, hopefully getting to 10-15 hours/week from here on out. I was originally planning to use the following study schedule, but now think that I may be spreading myself too thin:

• Oct - Jan: 8-hour studying on my own using PPI books/practice problems and PPI/NCEES practice tests
  • Feb - Hiner Seismic Course
  • March - Reza Mahallati Surveying Course
  • April - Final 8-hour/seismic/surveying studying and TESTS!
I recently was advised to just focus on the 8-hour the first time around, and then go back next year for seismic and surveying. Of course it would be wonderful to pass all 3 the first time around, but I'm worried that if I try to fit in everything then maybe I wouldn't pass anything!

What studying strategies worked for you? Any recommendations are appreciated!

Also, is there anyone else in the Bay Area studying for the Civil that would like to team up?

I'm taking PE for the first time in April 2015 - 8-hour (Water Resources and Environment depth), as well as the seismic and surveying. I started studying for the 8-hour about a month ago (5-10 hours a week) and am ramping up now, hopefully getting to 10-15 hours/week from here on out. I was originally planning to use the following study schedule, but now think that I may be spreading myself too thin:

• Oct - Jan: 8-hour studying on my own using PPI books/practice problems and PPI/NCEES practice tests
  • Feb - Hiner Seismic Course
  • March - Reza Mahallati Surveying Course