Advice for Electronics

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qiudogcool

Reaction score
Hello!

I am studying the electronics exam. Hope you can give some advice.

I didn't learn magnetic field theory before and find it hard to learn in a short time. I was not good at electronic device, either (BJT, FET, small signal analysis). These two take 21% of the exam. If I give them up, and focus on other topics, is it a bad idea?

It is hard to stay focused when I think it might not appear in the exam. Should I just focus on studying the CAMARA manual? Will that make me know 50% of the knowledge necessary?

How to study for the measurement and safety part?

Do I need some CODE book for this exam?

I am an April 2014 Electronics PE Exam passer, first try. The Magnetic Field theory stuff seemed to be as simple as plugging the numbers into the right formulas. I think all the formulas I needed for this area were in the Camara manual and the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. Know when to use which formula. Transistors sucked for me. It was definitely my Achilles heel more than anything else, and I should have studied them harder. There will be several problems on the exam for FET and BJT transistors so don't skip them! Find some books and do as many practice problems as you can. Know what a signal does throughout the circuit, where the current is going, the voltages at each junction, etc.

The Camara manual for the Electronics exam does cover about half of the exam, but don't rely solely on it! Get some additional references, especially for Communications (RF, antennas, etc.), there are quite a few of these problems on the exam.