HELP! California PE Application - Reference not licensed in state or country where/when project was located

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddcivilengr

Reaction score
I finally heard back from California board today (FYI - the check got cashed 3/22, yes...over four months  <_< ). Looks like everything went through except for my references. It states that my references are not licensed in state where the project was located. My situation: I work in the nuclear industry as a civil engineer. It is not required to be licensed in the state where the plant is located to complete the design work, neither do I live in those states. Therefore, most of my co-workers have licenses from different states. It is possible (will a lot of work and money) for me to get references from the states that are California is requiring, but I am confused if I need to get 4 all new references (especially since my supervisor has an out-of-state license). And I am dealing with 2 different states that I have done work for. Do I get one from each state? Do I just need one reference from each one of the states? Does my supervisors count as 1 out of the 4 references? 

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, as the board made clear that I am not allowed to call or email them upon receiving this bright pink rejection letter.