Is the Machine Design and Materials exam less popular?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ezzieyguywuf

Reaction score
I am considering taking the Mechanical PE exam for Machine Design and Materials in October. I graduated in 2011 with an MS in Mechanical Engineering, however I have not been doing very intense engineering work since I graduated. As I look at the three test options available, it seems that the Machine Design and Materials is the least specialized, and as such I thought this would be the best fit for me: I mostly want to take the test so that I can get my license and start a small side business offering engineering services to small business owners. The license will be used mostly as a ways of legitimizing my business.

The reason for my question is that as I read through this board, it seems that most of the questions and discussions ar around the Thermal and Fluids exam. What is the reason for this? I have not really seen any discussion regarding the Machine Design and Materials exam.

I took the Mechanical Systems and Materials (as it was known then) exam in October 2015. It was definitely the exam best suited to my skill set, which is machine design, automation and robotics. (Sidebar: That being said, I lament the fact that there is a lack of breadth in the new exams. I enjoyed the challenge of having to study and get comfortable with solving TFS problems even though I don't need to use that information too often. The process of obtaining my PE just felt more complete and thorough. )

Technically it doesn't matter which exam you take. They all yield the same license. Ultimately, and according to most state laws (YMMV), you will be obliged not to practice outside of your skill set area of expertise.